Criminal Defense in Hudson & Bergen County

Representing you with your criminal law case

Greenberg, Walden & Grossman LLC has substantial experience handling indictable criminal offenses, which are offenses that potentially carry harsher penalties; and disorderly conduct offenses that are less serious in nature. Specifically, the firm has handled numerous cases involving charges of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), moving violations, traffic offenses, and county ordinances. With experienced accident attorneys who are familiar with the New Jersey court system and laws, the firm has a record of success in protecting their clients' rights and interests. The firm provides aggressive and effective representation in criminal defense matters throughout northern New Jersey, including representation in Hudson, Bergen, Passaic, Essex, and Union counties.

New Jersey Municipal Court System

The Municipal Courts of New Jersey handle cases involving motor vehicle violations; parking tickets; municipal ordinance offenses, such as building code violations and nuisance cases; and minor criminal offenses, such as shoplifting. Municipal courts handle cases that occur within the boundaries of their municipality, and each municipality also has its own ordinances. Although serious criminal cases, such as cases involving robbery or assault, may begin in Municipal Court, they are often transferred to a Superior Court.

DWI/DUI

DWI offenses, also known as Driving Under the Influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI), are offenses that appear in municipal court and can carry significant penalties. According to the New Jersey Statutes, under Title 39, Chapter 4-50, if a person is found driving a motor vehicle and has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent but less than .10 percent, this person will lose his or her driving privileges for three months, pay a fine ranging from $250 to $400, serve a mandatory stay at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) that provides alcohol and highway safety education for 12 to 48 hours, and potentially serve up to 30 days in jail. The driver might also have surcharges as high as $1,000 a year for three years, which are fines assessed by New Jersey's Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC).

The consequences listed above are for a first-time offense of DWI. The penalties increase in severity for second and third-time DWI offenses, and they increase if one's BAC is .10 percent or higher. See Department of Motor Vehicles for a chart on penalties for DWI offenses.

If you plead guilty to a DWI charge, without the advice and representation of an attorney, you could face substantial jail time and costly fines. In addition, there are unfortunate, indirect consequences of pleading guilty to a DWI charge, such as higher insurance premiums, difficulty finding a job, and risk of deportation if you are not a U.S. citizen.

Traffic Offenses & License Suspensions

Greenberg, Walden & Grossman LLC Hudson County accident law firm handles a variety of traffic offenses, including the following:

  • Driving on a suspended or revoked license;
  • Driving without insurance;
  • Reckless driving; and
  • Speeding cases.

If you are stopped for driving on a suspended license, it is important to know the basis for that suspension. In New Jersey, people can have their licenses suspended for a number of reasons, such as failing to pay child support, accumulating 12 or more points from the MVC for moving violations, and failure to appear at a scheduled court hearing for a violation of a municipal ordinance.

By understanding the circumstances of the suspension, an experienced criminal defense attorney can help you determine whether the suspension was justified, whether you received adequate notice of the suspension, and can help you avoid expensive fines and possible imprisonment for driving on a suspended license. For more information, see New Jersey statutes regarding driving on a suspended license.

Contact us for a free initial consulation

New Jersey has strict laws against DWIs, driving with a suspended license, and other traffic violations; it is important to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney who understands the applicable laws, will thoroughly evaluate the strength of the evidence against you and challenge the prosecution's case, and will advocate aggressively to protect your rights. Call 800-655-3695 to speak with one of our experienced attorneys or use our web form to contact us.